News Release header


Media advisory,
Tuesday, May 15, 2018, 7 p.m.,
Toronto Region Board of Trade,
77 Adelaide Street West,
51st Annual Police Officer(s) of the Year Awards presentation

Broadcast time: 04:59
Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Corporate Communications

On Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 7 p.m., the Toronto Region Board of Trade will host a gala for the recipients of the 2017 Police Officer(s) of the Month awards at 77 Adelaide Street West.

This award was created by the Board of Trade in 1967. Its purpose is to recognize officers of the Toronto Police Service who have made significant contributions to making Toronto one of the safest big cities in the world. Each month, an officer or a group of officers is selected for Police Officer(s) of the Month, based on the following criteria: bravery, humanitarianism, superior investigative work and outstanding police skills.

A total of 33 officers will be honoured. The 2017 Police Officer(s) of the Year award will be announced at the gala.

Platform guests include Toronto Region Board of Trade Chief Marketing Officer Rene Vierling, Police Officer of the Year Committee Chair Christopher Worth, Toronto Police Services Board Chair Andy Pringle, and Chief Mark Saunders.

The Toronto Region Board of Trade and the Toronto Police Service invite members of the media to attend this ceremony. It is anticipated that the presentations will be made at approximately 8:20 p.m.

For further information, please contact Antoinette Lobo at 416-808-7096 or TPS Corporate Communications at 416-808-7100.

For more news, visit

Constable Caroline de Kloet, Corporate Communications, for A/Superintendent Christopher Kirkpatrick, Professional Standards Support