News Release header


Media advisory,
Tuesday, May 7, 2019, 7 p.m.,
Arcadian Court, 401 Bay Street,
Annual Police Officer(s) of the Year Awards presentation

Broadcast time: 07:00
Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Professional Standards Support

On Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 7 p.m., the Toronto Region Board of Trade will host a gala for the recipients of the 2018 Police Officer(s) of the Month awards at the Arcadian Court, 401 Bay Street.

This award was created by the Board of Trade in 1967. Its purpose is to recognize officers of the Toronto Police Service who have made significant contributions to making Toronto one of the safest big cities in the world. Each month, an officer or a group of officers is selected for Police Officer(s) of the Month, based on the following criteria: bravery, humanitarianism, superior investigative work and outstanding police skills.

A total of 30 officers will be honoured for their part in making Toronto one of the safest cities in the world. The 2018 Police Officer(s) of the Year award will be announced at the gala.

A total of five civilians will be honoured for the Project “Public Safety Data Portal” with a Civilian Excellence Award.

One officer will be honoured for the Project “eTeleWarrant and eReport to Justice” with a Business Excellence Award.

Platform guests include The Honourable Sylvia Jones, Solicitor General of Ontario, Ms. Jan De Silva, President and CEO, Toronto Region Board of Trade, Mr. Christopher Worth, Chair, Police Officer of the Year Committee, Mr. Andrew Pringle, Chair, Toronto Police Services Board and Chief Mark Saunders, Toronto Police Service.

The Toronto Region Board of Trade and the Toronto Police Service invite members of the media to attend this ceremony. It is anticipated that the presentations will be made at approximately 8:20 p.m.

For further information, please contact Ms. Antoinette Lobo at 416-808-7096 or TPS Corporate Communications at 416-808-7100.

For more news, visit

Constable Caroline de Kloet, Corporate Communications, for Ms. Antoinette Lobo, Professional Standards Support - Awards Unit