News Release header


Toronto Region Board of Trade names Police Officer Excellence Awards winners

Broadcast time: 14:00
Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Corporate Communications

The winners of the Police Officer Excellence Award were announced during a ceremony held this morning at Toronto Police Headquarters.

This award was created by the Board of Trade in 1967. Its purpose is to recognize officers of the Toronto Police Service who have made significant contributions to making Toronto one of the safest cities in the world. Each month, an officer or a group of officers are selected based on the following criteria: bravery, humanitarianism, superior investigative work and outstanding police skills.

Those selected are then re-evaluated by a panel of judges and the winners are chosen.

This year, the winners for the Police Officer Excellence Awards are:

- PC Joanne Tawton
- PC David Manserra
- PC Dale Swift
- Sgt. August Bonomo
- Sgt. Michael Fonseca
- Sgt. David Lim
- PC Alexandre Poltavets
- PC Richard Slater
- PC Todd Garbutt
- PC Brian McFadyen
- Det. John Margetson
- PC Benjamin Schneider
- PC Kristine Kiss
- Sgt. Royce MacDonald
- PC David Monteiro
- PC Zelijko Katanic
- PC Nathalie Urbas
- PC Sukhjit Gill

This year, the winner for the Civilian Excellence Award is:

- SDO Penny Rivers

This year, the winners for the Business Excellence Award are:

- Sgt. Brett Moore
- Sgt. Alex Crews

Congratulations to all the award winners for their continuing efforts to make Toronto a safe city.

For further information, please contact Ms. Elaine Wong at 416-808-7096 or TPS Corporate Communications PC Caroline de Kloet at 416-808-7093.

For more news, visit

Constable Caroline de Kloet, Corporate Communications